Men's Lacrosse Toppled By Cazenovia, 25-10

Men's Lacrosse Toppled By Cazenovia, 25-10

AURORA, N.Y. – Senior Connor Jansen (Horseheads, N.Y.) of the Wells College men's lacrosse team poured home three goals on Saturday in his team's 25-10 defeat at the hands of Cazenovia College. Wells falls to 1-6 overall and to 0-2 within the North Eastern Athletic Conference – the Wildcats improve to 3-4 on the year and to 1-0 against league foes. 

Jansen scored three goals and racked up two assists for a team-best five points. Sophomore Brian Buttner (Highland Mills, N.Y.) and classmate Tanner Mingen (Houston, Texas) each scored once while junior Alex Milliken (Hilton, N.Y.) chipped in with one goal and one assist. 

Sophomore Aaron Heisey (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) and junior Derrick Owens (Utica, N.Y.) added single goals for Wells. Junior Cody Roberson (Lewisville, N.C.) caused a team-leading three turnovers for Wells while Heisey added a team-leading 11 wins at the face-off "X".

Wells trailed by a two-goal margin, 6-4, with 8:16 remaining in the first half of play, but the Wildcats used a five-goal scoring run to open up a dominant 11-4 lead. The Express would score the final goal of the first half and the first goal of the second half, but another extended run of Cazenovia scoring in the third quarter eliminated any comeback attempt by the hosts. 

Shot totals for the game were relatively even with the Wildcats edging the Express, 45-to-44. Ground balls, however, were another story – Cazenovia jumped on 56 loose balls while Wells was limited to 40 on the afternoon. Wells committed turnovers on six clearance attempts while Cazenovia was perfect outside of two miscues. 

Kyle Kingsley and Joe Timm scored five goals apiece for Cazenovia, leading the team offensively. 

Wells goalkeeper Elijah Tracey (Utica, N.Y.) made 12 saves on 27 shots faced. Alex Delevan and Logan Blount made 11 saves against Express shooters, allowing 10 total goals on the afternoon. 

The Express hit the road for five-straight road games beginning this Friday, Apr. 8 at 4:30 p.m. against the reigning NEAC champions from Morrisville State College.